Documenting for Learning

While contemplating the article “Documenting for learning” by Silvia Rosenthal Tolisano, I went to look up the definition of the word document.  The fourth definition down was, evidence, proof!  This is exactly what we do as teachers when we document our students learning.  We give evidence, proof to the student, parent and teacher that learning has occurred and continues to.  By providing that proof that learning is happening is encouraging for everyone involved, student, parent and teacher.  It shows us that our students are on track or sometimes gives us proof that our students are off track or that they may need more support to get back on track.  Personally I am a documenter as well, I document all my children’s milestones and exciting moments!  “Honey grab the camera he is going to blow his candles out!”  “Honey grab the camera she is taking her first steps!”  “Honey grab the camera he is eating his booger!”  Ok, not to that point do I document.  But I do like documenting and it gives me a sense of accomplishment that I have proof of my children growing.  It gives me something to look back on and see the changes that have occurred in my kids and realize how far they have come.  This is the same way that I look at documenting as a teacher it gives me proof that my students are achieving where they need to be, so I can look back at their progress and see that they too are growing, but in their learning.  I also feel that documenting gives me a way to check myself as a teacher, “Are my students understanding this concept?”  “Should I maybe  that topic in a different way?”  These types of questions arise from my documenting ways, and help me to become a better teacher.  Documenting has given my students ways to self-assess and see their progress, but it has also given me a way to self-assess my learning as a teacher and it helps me grow as an educator every day!
 keep-calm-and-document-everything-12pic
Leave a Reply

